Team Selection: Captain Frusher returns in extended travelling squad to Canberra

The Perth Thundersticks women’s team have confirmed who will be travelling to Canberra in their quest for gold this weekend.

The JDH Hockey One Finals Main Event is finally here and the Perth Thundersticks will be welcoming back their captain in their extended squad.

Rachel Frusher is one of three players named to return to the Perth Thundersticks line-up in its 17-person squad set to be travelling to Canberra this weekend.

Frusher missed last week’s trip to Queensland due to general soreness but is raring to help the Thundersticks go for gold.

“We had a really great start to the season and our form kind of dropped off a little bit in the last two weeks so we’re hoping to bring it back and kind of regain everything and come in strong into Canberra,” she said.

“I think [this group] is probably one of the closest teams we’ve had.

“We’ve really gelled together so it’s been a really nice atmosphere to play in.”

Also returning to the line-up are Elyssa Melville and Karri Somerville, while goalkeeper Lou-Ellen Edwards faces the prospect of making her Hockey One debut as she joins the squad to provide back-up for Elizabeth Duguid.

Frusher, Melville, Somerville and Edwards come in to replace Bellé Ramshaw and Britney Desilva, who have been omitted.

Head coach Phil Hulbert said a lot of the team have been in really good form throughout the season, including those that have not been selected to travel to Canberra.

“Sometimes the people missing out have been playing very good hockey as well but can’t get them in because of the depth of the squad,” he said.

“I think the girls have gelled together extremely well and it’s been a big part of why we’re playing well.”

The Thundersticks begin their quest for gold going head to head with Brisbane Blaze in the First Semi Final on Saturday 25 November.

The winner will advance to the Grand Final on Sunday 26 November, while the loser will go through to the 3rd vs 4th Playoff.

Their opponents for Sunday will be determined by the Second Semi Final between NSW Pride and Canberra Chill.



1. Pippa Morgan – proudly supported by ERM

3. Neasa Flynn – proudly supported by Rascal’s Corner Farm

4. Elyssa Melville – proudly supported by Coast Edge Developments & DT38 Australia Pty Ltd The Trustee of the Dylan Tombides Trust

6. Sarah Byrnes – proudly supported by Bravo Apples

7. Penny Squibb – proudly supported by Amelia Park Lamb

8. Georgia Wilson – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers

9. Shanea Tonkin – proudly supported by C Results

10. Jesse Reid

11. Rachel Frusher (C)

12. Liné Malan – proudly supported by Raine & Horne Commercial WA

13. Lexie Pickering – proudly supported by Hawkesbury Community Sport by Hawkesbury Prohibition 0% Pale Ale

14. Elizabeth Duguid (GK) – proudly supported by Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd

17. Annie Gibbs

18. Renee Rockliff – proudly supported by Architectural Ceiling Systems

19. Georgina Dowd

20. Karri Somerville

23. Lou-Ellen Edwards (GK)

In: Elyssa Melville, Rachel Frusher, Karri Somerville, Lou-Ellen Edwards (prospective debut)

Out: Bellé Ramshaw (omitted), Britney Desilva (omitted)


Semi Final 1: Perth Thundersticks vs Brisbane Blaze

Saturday 25 November 8.00am AWST (11.00am AEDT)

National Hockey Centre, Canberra


Women’s 3rd vs 4th Playoff

Sunday 26 November 8.30am AWST (11.30am AEDT)

National Hockey Centre, Canberra


Women’s Grand Final

Sunday 26 November 12.30pm AWST (3.30pm AEDT)

National Hockey Centre, Canberra

Watch all the JDH Hockey One Finals action LIVE and FREE on 7Plus.