Perth Thundersticks extended squads announced for 2023 Hockey One season

The Perth Thundersticks are one step closer to preparing for this year’s Hockey One season with the Perth Thundersticks extended squads announced for 2023.

Both the men’s and women’s squads, comprising of 30 players each, feature Hockeyroos and Kookaburras Olympics stars and the best of WA hockey who are raring to go for gold this season.

This year, the squads were selected with Premier League performances in mind, as well as performances in the Perth Thundersticks Cup series for both the men and women.

The Perth Thundersticks Cup played a vital role in this year’s selection process, with WA’s best hockey athletes competing in a series of intra-squad matches to showcase their selection claims for this year’s Perth Thundersticks teams.

“It is really exciting to narrow down to our 30-player squads after a fantastic Perth Thundersticks Cup series that really showcased the strength of WA hockey heading into this year’s season,” Hockey WA Performance and Pathways Manager Trid Woodhouse said.

“Preparations for the upcoming series are now in full flight, with a series against Malaysia in store for our Perth Thundersticks women, as well as matches against the Premier League All-Stars for the men in the coming month.

“Also, on a personal level, this is the first year I have been the head of the program in my current role, and it has been an exciting process so far to see our athletes put their best foot forward to represent our state at the highest level on the national stage.

“The future looks bright for our Perth Thundersticks cohort – I know the players, coaches and everyone else involved is super excited to tackle this season head on.”

The extended squads will be narrowed down to the final teams of 22 for this year’s season on Friday 1 September.

Memberships for the 2023 Perth Thundersticks Hockey One season are on sale now. Don’t miss your chance to witness hockey at its best as the Perth Thundersticks gear up for gold this year.

2023 Perth Thundersticks Men – Extended Squad  

Luke Anderson, Midfield

William Battistessa, Midfield

Matthew Bird, Midfield

Josh Bowen, Midfield

James Collins, Defender

James Day, Defender

Bryn de Bes, Defender

Liam Flynn, Striker

Brodee Foster, Striker

Max Freedman, Midfield

Cambell Geddes, Defender

Tim Geers, Midfield

Harry Golding, Striker

Tom Harvie, Defender

Jake Harvie, Midfield

Brayden King, Defender

Tyler Lovell, GK

Frank Main, Striker

Trent Mitton, Striker

Alistair Murray, Defender

Mitchell Pace, Defender

Kyle Potter, Defender

Marshall Puzey, Midfield

Jesse Regan, Striker

Ben Rennie, GK

Benjamin Taylor, Defender

Hayden Walker, GK

Tom Wickham, Striker

Matthew Willis, Striker

Aran Zalewski, Midfield

2023 Perth Thundersticks Women – Extended Squad 

Sarah Byrnes, Midfield

Kate  Denning, Midfield

Britney DeSilva, Midfield

Georgina Dowd, Forward

Ella Du Preez, Midfield

Elizabeth Duguid, GK

Lou-Ellen Edwards, GK

Neasa Flynn, Forward

Rachel Frusher, Defender

Annie Gibbs, Defender

Sophie Johnston, Defender

Line Malan, Midfield

Elyssa Melville, Midfield

Pippa Morgan, Midfield

Kayla O’Sullivan, Striker

Charlotte Owens, Defender

Tyler Pedley, Striker

Lexie Pickering, Striker

Saysha Pillay, Striker

Aleisha Power, GK

Belle Ramshaw, Defender

Emma Reid, Defender

Jesse Reid, Striker

Anna Roberts, Defender

Renee Rockliff, Midfield

Karri Somerville, Defender

Penny Squibb, Defender

Caitlyn Templeman, Defender

Shanea Tonkin, Midfield

Georgia Wilson, Midfield