Undefeated and beaten against NSW Pride

Round 5 was a story of two polar opposites on Sunday as HC Melbourne took on NSW Pride at Sydney Olympic Park. The women continued their undefeated streak while the men were dissected by a faster and more dynamic NSW Pride team.

The women started defiantly after a strong win on Friday night against Canberra Chill. Amy Lawton was first to score for HC Melbourne early with an early field goal. NSW Pride’s Abigail Wilson responded two minutes into the second quarter with an excellent finish from a short corner.

HC Melbourne then put their foot on the accelerator, as Aisling Utri and Claire Messent put three goals into the net to send them into the break with a convincing 4-1 lead. Nicola Hammond extended the lead even further in the third quarter, before Messent and Madi Ratcliffe put the result beyond reach in the fourth term.

In the final minute of the game, Kate Jenner blasted a shot at goal which took a final touch off Casey Sablowski to drag back the score line to 7-2 at the final whistle.

The NSW Pride men kept their  undefeated streak intact with a dominant win over Hockey Club Melbourne at Sydney Olympic Park on Sunday.

A three goal-haul to Kurt Lovett, a brace from Blake Govers and diving field goal from Flynn Ogilvie were the highlights in the NSW Pride men’s 6-1 win over their neighbours from the south.

An unfortunate deflection off HC Melbourne defender Connar Otterbach late in the first quarter gave the NSW Pride an early two goal advantage after Lovett stepped up and converted the initial goal.

Govers extended the Pride’s lead to five goals in the third quarter after a scorching run along the baseline that was eventually deflected in off HC Melbourne keeper Johan Durst. Ogilvie scored diving field goal halfway through the final term to seal the result. HC Melbourne captain Russell Ford claimed a consolation goal for his team in the dying minutes of the game to make the final score 6-1.

HC Melbourne head to Hobart on Sunday 27 November to take on the Tassie Tigers. Watch it live on Kayo!


Women’s Match Details

NSW Pride – 2 (Abigail Wilson 17’ Casey Sablowski 60’)
HC Melbourne – 7 (Amy Lawton 7’ Aisling Utri 28’ 28’ Claire Messent 30’ 49’ Nicola Hammond 42’)

Men’s Match Details

NSW Pride – 6 (Kurt Lovett 10’ 10’ 27’ Blake Govers 37’ 37’ Flynn Ogilvie 58’)
HC Melbourne – 1 (Russell Ford 58’)

Sunday 20 October 2019
Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre (NSW)