Team Selection: Fresh faces to make Thundersticks debut

The Perth Thundersticks teams are locked and loaded for Saturday’s JDH Hockey One season opener against Canberra Chill!


The quest to go one better begins for the Thundersticks as they welcome two new faces for their round one clash against the Canberra Chill.

Led by Kookaburras captain Aran Zalewski, plenty of familiar faces are set to run out for the Thundersticks as they begin their journey to avenge their heartbreaking 2022 grand final loss to NSW Pride.

After spending the first two Hockey One seasons travelling east to represent the ACT, James Day is set to make his Thundersticks debut against his former team.

Ahead of the match, Day said while the Thundersticks boast a different game style, environment and team structure compared to the Chill, he is excited to take on the challenge.

“I have good mates in the Canberra team, so it will be different playing against them rather than for them,” he said.

“They’ve got some new players in there too, so I expect their style will evolve with the team.

“They’re going to be tough to play against, I’m just hoping I can carry over my form from last season and play the best I can.”

Head coach Craig Wilson said Day has been integrating into the team really well as the Thundersticks push for high-level performances throughout this season.

Also set to make his Thundersticks Hockey One debut on Saturday is Matt Bird, while Brayden King and Trent Mitton will make their respective returns to the Thunderdome for the first time since the 2019 season.

The Starting 15 vs Canberra Chill
1. Matt Bird
2. Will Battistessa
3. Tim Geers
4. Jake Harvie – proudly supported by Harley Dykstra
5. Tom Wickham – proudly supported by ERM
9. James Day – proudly supported by Espresso Works
11. Tom Harvie – proudly supported by Bravo Apples & Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd
13. Brayden King – proudly supported by AMS Installation & Maintenance Solutions
14. Matt Willis
15. Liam Flynn
17. Aran Zalewski (C) – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers
18. Ben Rennie (GK)
23. Cambell Geddes
25. Trent Mitton – proudly supported by Amelia Park Beef
26. James Collins – proudly supported by Henry M’s


The Thundersticks are set to feature plenty of firepower to kick off their 2023 Hockey One campaign against the Canberra Chill.

Goalkeeper Elizabeth Duguid is set to lead the squad into the team’s third season as captain, featuring a vast number of familiar faces and several new additions.

After missing the 2022 Hockey One season, Pippa Morgan will run out for her first Hockey One match since round six of the 2019 season against Tassie Tigers, with head coach Philip Hulbert already flagging Morgan as one to watch this season.

“She’s someone that’s got a big future, so I’m interested to see how someone like that goes along,” he said.

Fresh off the back of taking part in the Jillaroos training camp in Canberra, Belle Ramshaw is set to make her Hockey One debut, while Lexie Pickering & Jesse Reid will run out for the Thundersticks for the first time since joining from NSW Pride and Brisbane Blaze respectively.

The Starting 15 vs Canberra Chill
1. Pippa Morgan – proudly supported by ERM
3. Neasa Flynn
6. Sarah Byrnes – proudly supported by Bravo Apples
8. Georgia Wilson – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers
9. Shanea Tonkin – proudly supported by C Results
10. Jesse Reid
11. Rachel Frusher
12. Liné Malan – proudly supported by Raine & Horne Commercial WA
13. Lexie Pickering – proudly supported by Hawkesbury Community Sport by Hawkesbury Prohibition 0% Pale Ale
14. Elizabeth Duguid (C, GK) – proudly supported by Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd
15. Belle Ramshaw – proudly supported by Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd
17. Annie Gibbs
18. Renee Rockliff – proudly supported by Architectural Ceiling Systems
19. Georgina Dowd
22. Anna Roberts

Men’s vs Canberra Chill
Saturday 7 October 3.30pm
Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University

Women’s vs Canberra Chill
Saturday 7 October 5.00pm
Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University

Purchase tickets via Intix.