Team Selection: Big returns ahead of NSW Pride challenge

The Perth Thundersticks teams are locked and loaded for their JDH Hockey One round six double header against NSW Pride.


As the Perth Thundersticks men’s side get set to face their toughest challenge yet, team selectors are calling on back-up for their forward line.

Brodee Foster and Trent Mitton have been named to return to the Thundersticks’ 15-person line-up set to run out against NSW Pride at Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University on Sunday 12 November.

Foster returns from his stint representing the Burras at the Sultan of Johor Cup, where they finished second for the second year in a row – falling just short to Germany 0-0 (1-3 SO).

Foster was named Player of the Match in the Burras’ opening match against Great Britain, scoring two goals in the space of four minutes.

Mitton also returns after missing last weekend’s trip to Adelaide for personal reasons, bringing further experience and depth in the Thundersticks’ forward line.

The pair come in to replace Alistair Murray and Frank Main, who have been omitted from the line-up.


The Starting 15 vs NSW Pride

1. Matt Bird

3. Tim Geers

4. Jake Harvie – proudly supported by Harley Dykstra

5. Tom Wickham – proudly supported by ERM

6. Bryn De Bes

9. James Day – proudly supported by Espresso Works

11. Tom Harvie – proudly supported by Bravo Apples & Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd

13. Brayden King – proudly supported by AMS Installation & Maintenance Solutions

14. Matt Willis

15. Liam Flynn

17. Aran Zalewski (C) – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers

18. Ben Rennie (GK)

25. Trent Mitton – proudly supproted by Amelia Park Beef

26. James Collins – proudly supported by Henry M’s

In: Brodee Foster, Trent Mitton

Out: Alistair Murray (omitted), Frank Main (omitted)


With the JDH Hockey One Finals series fast approaching, just one change has been made to the Perth Thundersticks women’s squad.

Neasa Flynn has been named to return to the 15-person squad set to run out for the Thundersticks’ final home match of the 2023 JDH Hockey One season on Sunday 12 November.

Flynn, who was withdrawn from last weekend’s starting line-up due to illness, comes back into the squad replacing Lexie Pickering, who was omitted from the line-up.

Flynn said after missing the trip to Adelaide, she was well rested and really excited to get back out there to help keep the Thundersticks’ undefeated streak going.

“I think at the moment we have a target on our back as an undefeated team and we have sort of left some of the harder matches towards the end of the season,” she said.

“I think that’s when we’ll really be finalising our structure and putting our best performances on coming into the finals.

“We’re really excited to play against some of the bigger states and overcome these challenges.”

Going into this weekend’s match with a 4-0 record after last weekend’s clean-sheet victory over Adelaide Fire, the Thundersticks have already secured their ticket to Canberra for the Hockey One Finals.

However, there will be no time to sit back and relax as the side looks to hold off the Pride, who will be heading into the match determined to secure a top-four spot.

Flynn said while the NSW Pride have a lot of Hockeyroos in their stocks and plenty of strengths across the field, the Thundersticks will focus on playing as a unified group.

“I don’t think we’re looking to change too much according to their structure or certain individuals,” she said.

“I think we’ve sort of proven that we can beat teams that are stacked to the brim with internationally ranked players.”


The Starting 15 vs NSW Pride

1. Pippa Morgan – proudly supported by ERM

3. Neasa Flynn – proudly supported by Rascal’s Corner Farm

4. Elyssa Melville – proudly supported by Coast Edge Developments & DT38 Australia Pty Ltd The Trustee of the Dylan Tombides Trust

6. Sarah Byrnes – proudly supported by Bravo Apples

7. Penny Squibb – proudly supported by Amelia Park Lamb

8. Georgia Wilson – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers

9. Shanea Tonkin – proudly supported by C Results

10. Jesse Reid

11. Rachel Frusher (C)

12. Liné Malan – proudly supported by Raine & Horne Commercial WA

14. Elizabeth Duguid (GK) – proudly supported by Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd

17. Annie Gibbs

18. Renee Rockliff – proudly supported by Architectural Ceiling Systems

19. Georgina Dowd

20. Karri Somerville

In: Neasa Flynn

Out: Lexie Pickering (omitted)


Men’s vs NSW Pride

Sunday 12 November 1.30pm AWST

Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University

Women’s vs Adelaide Fire

Sunday 12 November 3.00pm AWST

Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University


Tickets can be purchased via INTIX. Use the code PTXJUNIOR to redeem a FREE Junior General Admission ticket with a paid Adult ticket.

Watch the game LIVE and FREE on 7Plus.