Stage set for opening night of JDH Hockey One League 2023 Season

The third and most highly anticipated edition of the JDH Hockey One League begins tonight with a tantalising double header between the Tassie Tigers and HC Melbourne in Hobart.

The build up to Season 3 of Australia’s only major national sporting league comprising a men’s and women’s match back-to-back in every fixture has been the biggest yet, with all seven franchises boasting world class talent across their playing rosters.

For the first time, the JDH Hockey One League will be shown LIVE and free on 7plus.

The Tassie Tigers and HC Melbourne open proceedings in front an expected bumper crowd at the Tasmanian Hockey Centre from 6:30pm local time tonight.

The action then heads west as the Perth Thundersticks welcome Canberra Chill to the Perth Hockey Centre at Curtin University tomorrow.

Then on Sunday Adelaide Fire and Brisbane Blaze will lock horns at MATE Stadium in Adelaide.

NSW Pride – defending champions in both the women’s and men’s – have the bye in Round 1.

All the team line-ups for Round 1 have been released, with Kookaburras and Hockeyroos stars littered throughout, coupled with Australia’s best emerging hockey talent and a contingent of outstanding imports headlined by Indian cult figure Rupinder Pal Singh, who will make his debut for Canberra Chill.


For a more detailed preview on all 14 teams, check out Adam Clifford’s Season Preview.


The JDH Hockey One League season consists of teams playing each other once with the top four sides after seven rounds qualifying for the Final Series Main Event in Canberra on 25/26 November.

Memberships and tickets for all matches are available now through Intix.


JDH Hockey One League 2023 Season – Round 1 Fixtures

Tassie Tigers v HC Melbourne

Friday 6 October 2023

Tasmanian Hockey Centre

Start Times: Women’s 6:30pm local (6:30pm AEDT), Men’s 8:00pm local (8:00pm AEDT)

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

Broadcast: LIVE and free on 7plus #TIGvHCM #HockeyOne

Umpires: Kristy Robertson and Nicola Brown (Women’s), Jayden Pearson and Aaron Kitchener (Men’s)


Tassie Tigers Women’s team: 2.Jemma Kenworthy, 3.Lucy Millington, 4.Maddison Brooks, 5.Taylor Brooks, 9.Emily Donovan, 11.Isabelle Sharman, 12.Louise Maddock, 13.Phillida Bridley (c), 15.Lucy Cooper, 16.Maddison Clark, 17.Kathryn Lane, 20.Beth Dobbie, 21.Lauren Canning, 25.Evie Dalton (gk), 28.Pipi Martos

HC Melbourne Women’s team: 1.Bridget Laurance (gk), 2.Aisling Utri, 3.Nicola Hammond, 5.Krissy Bates, 6.Josie Lawton, 7.Ciara Utri, 11.Joanne Peeters, 12.Emily Hamilton-Smith, 13.Megan Alakus, 14.Laura Barden, 15.Olivia Downes, 20.Zali Ward, 22.Charlotte Hodgson, 23.Samantha Snow, 25.Hannah Gravenall (c)


Tassie Tigers Men’s team: 2.Tyler McDonald, 3.Alex Shaw, 6.Josh Brooks, 7.Josh Mardell, 9.Jeremy Edwards (c), 10.Ruben Hoey, 12.Sam McCulloch, 14.Jack Welch, 19.Tim Deavin, 20.Ehren Hazell, 25.Max Larkin (gk), 27.Gobindraj Gill, 28.Lachlan Rogers, 30.Alistair White, 32.Jeremy Hayward

HC Melbourne Men’s team: 1.Craig Marais, 2.Frazer Gerrard, 4.Liam Henderson, 5.Douglas Buckley, 6.Damon Steffens (c), 7.Nathan Ephraums, 8.Lachlan Steinfort, 9.Nathan Copey, 10.Brad Marais, 11.Cooper Burns, 11.Cooper Burns, 12.Connar Otterbach, 13.Jayshaan Randhawa, 15.Josh Simmonds, 18.Johan Durst (gk), 22.Ben White


Perth Thundersticks v Canberra Chill

Saturday 7 October 2023

Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University

Start Times: Men’s 3:30pm local (6:30pm AEDT), Women’s 5:00pm local (8:00pm AEDT)

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

Broadcast: LIVE and free on 7plus #PTXvCCH #HockeyOne

Umpires: Aleisha Neumann and Rhiannon Murrie (Women’s), Daniel Johnston and Jordan Moore (Men’s)


Perth Thundersticks Women’s team: 1.Pippa Morgan, 3.Neasa Flynn, 6.Sarah Byrnes, 8.Georgia Wilson, 9.Shanea Tonkin, 10.Jesse Reid, 11.Rachel Frusher, 12.Liné Malan, 13.Lexie Pickering, 14.Elizabeth Duguid (gk) (c), 15.Belle Ramshaw, 17.Annie Gibbs, 18.Renee Rockliff, 19.Georgina Dowd, 22.Anna Roberts

Canberra Chill Women’s Team: 1.Mikayla Evans, 2.Katie Mullan, 5.Claudia Johnston, 6.Roisin Upton, 7.Naomi Evans (c), 8.Sarah Hawkshaw, 9.Samantha Economos, 11.Tamsin Bunt, 13.Edwina Bone, 16.Georgie Smithers, 17.Kaitlin Cotter, 21.Mikaela Patterson, 23.Kalindi Commerford, 25.Lauren Yee, 32.Rene Hunter (gk)


Perth Thundersticks Men’s team: 1.Matthew Bird, 2.Will Battistessa, 3.Tim Geers, 4.Jake Harvie, 5.Tom Wickham, 9.James Day, 11.Tom Harvie, 13.Brayden King, 14.Matthew Willis, 15.Liam Flynn, 17.Aran Zalewski (c), 18.Ben Rennie (gk), 23.Cambell Geddes, 25.Trent Mitton, 26.James Collins

Canberra Chill Men’s Team: 2.Ben Staines, 4.Jaume Torras, 6.Connor Tuddenham, 8.Sean Baker, 9.Jamie Hawke, 10.Owen Chivers, 11.Garry Backhus, 12.Jake Staines, 15.Hayden Dillon (c), 17.Aiden Dooley, 22.Jay Macdonald, 24.Davis Atkin, 26.James Jewel, 32.Brendan Hill (gk), 33.Rupinder Pal Singh


Adelaide Fire v Brisbane Blaze

Sunday 8 October 2023

MATE Stadium

Start Times: Women’s 1:00pm local (1:30pm AEDT), Men’s 2:30pm local (3:00pm AEDT)

Tickets: Click here for ticketing details

Broadcast: LIVE and free on 7plus #ADLvBBZ #HockeyOne

Umpires: Deb O’Connell and Cassidy Gallagher (Women’s), Coen van Bunge and Tim Sheahan (Men’s)


Adelaide Fire Women’s team: 2.Brittany Wang, 4.Hattie Shand, 5.Holly Evans-Gill, 6.Euleena Maclachlan (c), 8.Miki Spano, 10.Carly Hoffmann, 11.Lucy Sharman, 15.Brooke Peris, 17.Katie Sharkey, 18.Anna Crowley, 22.Zoe Newman (gk), 25.Jane Claxton, 27.Sherilyn Cass

Brisbane Blaze Women’s team: 1.Savannah Fitzpatrick, 2.Rosie Malone, 3.Kendra Fitzpatrick, 4.Claire Colwill, 5.Morgan Gallagher (c), 6.Hannah Cullum-Sanders, 7.Jodie Kenny, 8.Dayle Dolkens, 9.Casey Dolkens, 10.Madison Fitzpatrick, 11.Morgan Mathison, 12.Tatum Stewart, 22.Britt Wilkinson, 23.Ruby Harris, 88.Jordan Bliss (gk)


Adelaide Fire Men’s team: 1.Kieran Govers, 2.Connor Richmond-Spouse, 4.Jack Holland, 6.Matthew Magann, 7.Peter Scott, 8.Brodie Gleeson, 9.Fred Gray, 10.Lachlan Arneil, 13.Alastair Oliver, 14.Fraser Heigh, 16.Hugh Snowden, 17.Charl Ulrich, 20.Chris Wells, 21.Jed Snowden (gk), 25.Jethro Eustice (c)

Brisbane Blaze Men’s team: 1.Will Mathison, 2.Shane Kenny, 3.Corey Weyer, 5.Lucas Brown, 9.Jacob Anderson, 10.Cale Cramer, 11.Michael Francis, 12.Jake Whetton (c), 13.David Hubbard, 15.Jayden Atkinson, 16.Tim Howard, 17.Scott Boyde, 19.Luke Randle, 24.Diarmid Chappell, 32.Mitchell Nicholson (gk)