NSW Pride duo named Women’s and Men’s 2023 League MVPs

A Hockeyroo and Kookaburra from NSW Pride have claimed the respective JDH Hockey One League 2023 Women’s and Men’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) Awards.

Midfielder Kaitlin Nobbs was named the league’s Women’s MVP, while striker Tim Brand took home the Men’s MVP after both had standout seasons.

Nobbs, who returned to the Hockey One League this year after she missed last season due to playing club hockey in the Netherlands, was a dominant midfield force for the Pride in 2023.

The 26 year old showed exceptional vision and awareness when in possession over the duration of the season and played a crucial role in marshalling the NSW Pride midfield. One of the senior leaders in the Hockeyroos squad, Nobbs was integral in the Pride’s second placed finish at the end of the regular season.

For Brand, who also returned to the Hockey One League this season after European club commitments in 2022, he constantly mesmerised opponents and provided headaches for opposing defences as the Pride went undefeated throughout the regular season.

Brand displayed a team orientated focus across the season and showed incredible skill and talent when in possession. He scored four goals himself, set up a host of others and proved why he is one of the world’s best and most threatening players inside the attacking circle.

The MVPs were decided by an expert panel and announced during the presentations following yesterday’s Women’s and Men’s 2022 Grand Finals.


Previous JDH Hockey One League MVPs

Women – 2022 Amy Lawton (HC Melbourne), 2019 Shihori Oikawa (Canberra Chill)

Men – 2022 Andrew Charter (Canberra Chill), 2019 Eddie Ockenden (Tassie Tigers)