Women’s Round 3 Review

An amazing five goal haul from Abby Wilson has sparked the NSW Pride to its first win of season, while the Perth Thundersticks and Brisbane Blaze also broke through for maiden victories.

With each team’s Hockeyroos representatives unavailable due to the national team’s preparations for the upcoming Olympic qualifiers against Russia, all three matches were going to be intriguing.

(AAP Image/Joel Carrett)

In Sydney, Wilson opened her account with a darting backstick goal in the 5th minute and then doubled the lead in the resultant one-on-one conversion attempt to give the Pride a dream start against the Tassie Tigers.

The 19 year old’s hat-trick came just before half time, while debutant NSW Pride goalkeeper Jess Parr made some crucial saves during the third term to deny the Tassie Tigers. Then in the final minute Wilson slotted another quick fire double to round off a memorable afternoon in a 5-0 triumph against a Tassie Tigers team that has now conceded nine goals and failed to find the net in their opening two matches.

(AAP Image/Tony McDonough)

The Perth Thundersticks and Canberra Chill could not be separated at the end of regulation time after scores were locked 1-1. Karri Somerville struck first for the home side before Japanese import Shihori Oikawa erased the deficit for the Chill in the third quarter.

Thundersticks goalkeeper Aleisha Power proved the difference in the deciding shootout as she saved all five Canberra attempts, Argentinian Agueda Moroni’s successful penalty, the only one converted by either side, giving the Thundersticks their first win.

(AAP Image/Kelly Barnes)

Meanwhile, the Brisbane Blaze inflicted Adelaide Fire’s first loss of the season courtesy of some clinical penalty corner taking. In a match dubbed the ‘inferno rivalry’, the Blaze struck first through a Ruby Harris field goal.

They doubled their advantage before half time when Ashlea Fey’s drag flick found the target. Adelaide Fire’s Miki Spano continued her stellar start to the season when she pegged a goal back but two more well worked penalty corners, from Britt Wilkinson and then Layla Eleison, had the Blaze on their way to snaring their first scalp.

Spano scored a late consolation for the Fire but it would not spoil the Blaze party, leaving the Queenslanders just three points off top spot.

Hockey Club Melbourne had the bye ahead of the upcoming double round of matches to be split across this Friday and Sunday. For ticketing details click here, while every match of the Sultana Bran Hockey One League will be broadcast LIVE and exclusive on Kayo.

Sultana Bran Hockey One 2019 Season – Round 3 Results

NSW Pride 5 (Wilson 5’/5’/27’/60’/60’)

Tassie Tigers 0

Saturday 12 October 2019

Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre (NSW) 

NSW Pride Women’s team: 2.Sarah Johnston, 5.Jess Parr (GK), 12.Mikaela Patterson, 16.Jessica Watterson, 19.Morgan Blamey, 20.Maddison Smith, 21.Alice Arnott, 22.Kate Jenner (c), 23.Abby Wilson, 27.Renae Robinson, 28.Casey Sablowski, 29.Courtney Schonell, 31.Emma Spinks, 32.Grace Young

Tassie Tigers Women’s team: 1.Sarah McCambridge, 2.Amelia Spence (c), 3.Hannah Richardson, 4.Nicole Geeves, 5.Molly Haas, 8.Holly Bonde (GK), 9.Emily Donovan, 10.Laura Spandler, 13.Phillida Bridley, 15.Sophie Rockefeller, 16.Samantha Lawrence, 19.Esmee Broekhuizen, 20.Katerina Lacina, 21.Lauren Canning

Perth Thundersticks 1 (1) (Somerville 21’)

Canberra Chill 1 (0) (Oikawa 39’)

Perth Thundersticks win 1-0 on penalties

Saturday 12 October 2019

Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University (WA)

Perth Thundersticks Women’s team: 1.Phillipa Morgan, 3.Candyce Peacock, 4.Jemma Buckley (c), 6.Jacqui Day, 9.Shanea Tonkin, 11.Rachel Frusher, 14.Roos Broek, 15.Caitlin Pascov, 16.Karri Somerville, 17.Annie Gibbs, 18.Renee Rockliff, 19.Aleisha Power (GK), 29.Agueda Moroni, 30.Chloe Pendlebury

Canberra Chill Women’s team: 1.Mikayla Evans, 2. Lucy Balfour, 7.Naomi Evans (c), 10.Rebecca Lee, 11.Sophie Gaughan, 14. Emily Robson, 15.Yui Ishibashi, 16.Shihori Oikawa, 17.Beckie Middleton, 18.Olivia Martin, 19.Anna Flanagan, 25.Tina Taseska, 27.Meredith Bone, 31.Sakiyo Asano (GK)

Adelaide Fire 2 (Spano 33’/54’)

Brisbane Blaze 4 (Harris 5’, Fey 21’, Wilkinson 44’, Eleison 50’)

Sunday 13 October 2019

State Hockey Centre (SA)

Adelaide Fire Women’s team: 1.Linzi Appleyard, 3.Brooklyn Buchecker, 7.Emma De Broughe, 8.Holly Evans (c), 12.Emily Grist, 13.Sarah Harrison, 15.Euleena Maclachlan, 19.Gabi Nance, 20.Hattie Shand, 21.Miki Spano, 22.Leah Welstead, 23.Gemma McCaw, 25.Kate Denning, 28.Amy Hammond (GK)

Brisbane Blaze Women’s team: 3.Layla Eleison, 4.Ashlea Fey (c), 6.Morgan Gallagher, 8.Jordyn Holzberger, 9.Jesse Reid, 12.Kendra Fitzpatrick, 14.Meg Pearce, 15.Hannah Astbury (GK), 19.Morgan Mathison, 20.Aleisha Neumann, 22.Britt Wilkinson, 23.Ruby Harris, 24.Claire Colwill, 25.Georgia Hillas