Team Selection: Hockeyroo, round one stars return

The Perth Thundersticks teams are locked and loaded for their JDH Hockey One round four double header against Hockey Club Melbourne.


Another Hockeyroo is set to make her JDH Hockey One return as the Thundersticks gear up for what is set to be an exciting top of the table clash.

Karri Somerville has been named in the 15-person squad that will be running out for the Perth Thundersticks’ round four match against Hockey Club Melbourne at Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University on Sunday 29 October.

As the squad looks to experiment with playing combinations, Somerville comes in replacing Bellé Ramshaw, who has been omitted from the line-up.

Also making her return to the squad is Lexie Pickering, who replaces the omitted Britney Desilva.

Pickering previously featured for the Thundersticks during round one’s 4-1 victory against Canberra Chill, where her offensive efforts worked wonders to break down the Chill’s defence.

The Starting 15 vs Hockey Club Melbourne

1. Pippa Morgan – proudly supported by ERM
3. Neasa Flynn  – proudly supported by Rascals Corner Farm & Boutique Accommodation
6. Sarah Byrnes – proudly supported by Bravo Apples
7. Penny Squibb – proudly supported by Amelia Park Lamb
8. Georgia Wilson – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers
9. Shanea Tonkin – proudly supported by C Results
10. Jesse Reid
11. Rachel Frusher (C)
12. Liné Malan – proudly supported by Raine & Horne Commercial WA
13. Lexie Pickering – proudly supported by Hawkesbury Community Sport by Hawkesbury Prohibition 0% Pale Ale
14. Elizabeth Duguid (GK) – proudly supported by Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd
17. Annie Gibbs
18. Renee Rockliff – proudly supported by Architectural Ceiling Systems
19. Georgina Dowd
20. Karri Somerville

In: Lexie Pickering, Karri Somerville

Out: Bellé Ramshaw (omitted), Britney Desilva (omitted)


As the Perth Thundersticks men’s team look to bounce back from a tough 1-2 loss to Tassie Tigers away, two familiar faces are set to make their return.

James Day and Trent Mitton have been named to return to the Thundersticks 15-person squad ahead of their JDH Hockey One round four match against Hockey Club Melbourne on Sunday 29 October.

Day and Mitton, who missed last weekend’s trip to Tasmania, come in to replace young guns Brodee Foster and Cambell Geddes.

Foster and Geddes will miss this weekend’s match as they will be representing the Burras (Australian Under-21 Men’s Team) during the Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia, taking place from Friday 27 October to Saturday 4 November.

Both Day and Mitton featured during the Thundersticks’ round one victory over Canberra Chill, where Day played a starring role scoring three goals off penalty corners against his old team.

Mitton’s experience will also provide plenty of back-up in the forward line.

The Starting 15 vs Hockey Club Melbourne

1. Matt Bird
2. Will Battistessa
3. Tim Geers
4. Jake Harvie – proudly supported by Harley Dykstra
5. Tom Wickham – proudly supported by ERM
9. James Day – proudly supported by Espresso Works
11. Tom Harvie – proudly supported by Bravo Apples & Consolidated Minerals Pty Ltd
12. Alistair Murray
13. Brayden King – proudly supported by AMS Installation & Maintenance Solutions
14. Matt Willis
15. Liam Flynn
17. Aran Zalewski (C) – proudly supported by Western Stabilisers
18. Ben Rennie (GK)
25. Trent Mitton – proudly supported by Amelia Park Beef
26. James Collins – proudly supported by Henry M’s

In: James Day, Trent Mitton

Out: Brodee Foster (Burras), Cam Geddes (Burras)


Women’s vs Hockey Club Melbourne

Sunday 29 October 1.30pm AWST (4.30pm AEDT)

Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University

Men’s vs Hockey Club Melbourne

Sunday 29 October 3.00pm AWST (6.00pm AEDT)

Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University


Purchase tickets via INTIX.

Watch the game LIVE and FREE on 7Plus.