Tassie Tigers on a hunt to bring down Thundersticks

By Kate Allman

The Tassie Tigers head west for Saturday night’s Round 5 clash against the Perth Thundersticks in the Sultana Bran Hockey One League.

Tickets are available through Ticketek.

Catch all the action LIVE on Kayo.

The Tigers women have been the cellar dwellers of this season but showed they can mix it with the best when they beat defending Champions Brisbane Blaze in Round 1.

Fifth-placed Perth Thundersticks women came out strong early in the season, with two wins on the trot against Adelaide Fire and HC Melbourne. However, their form has dropped in recent weeks in losses to the Brisbane Blaze and NSW Pride.

The Thundersticks will need to regather their structured defence to absorb the fast-paced attack of the Tigers. It will be up to defenders Rachel Frusher, Karri Somerville and Penny Squibb to shut the Tigers out.

The Thundersticks have been dealt a blow with Hockeyroos goalkeeper Aleisha Power a late withdrawal, although Elizabeth Duguid is a more than capable replacement between the posts.

Up front, the South African tomahawk strike of Line Malan and speedy stickwork of Shanea Tonkin could get Thundersticks on the scoreboard early.

Goalkeepers have made themselves superstars in Hockey One and young Tigers keeper Evie Dalton caught plenty of eyes in the first round against Brisbane Blaze. She will rotate back into the team this week, as equally exciting Camilla Vaughan takes a rest.

Energetic Tigers captain Maddy Murphy has the ability to turn the game on its head with creative ball distribution. Her work rate and leadership alongside strong and skilful midfielder, US import Cassie Sumfest, will be crucial.

In the men’s game, fifth-placed Tassie Tigers face a daunting task to bring down the Perth Thundersticks at home.

Kookaburras co-captains will face off as Aran Zalewski (Thundersticks) goes head to head with Eddie Ockenden (Tigers). Both have the skills, smarts and acceleration to upend hapless defences.

Perth have put up clinical wins in every match except for a narrow 4-3 loss to season favourites NSW Pride.

Tom Wickham (Thundersticks) will be called upon to continue his goal streak – he has five this season. But he will need to beat Tassie Tigers keeper Henry Chambers, who shot to attention as he went blow for blow against Kookaburras veteran keeper Andrew Charter with some electrifying saves against the Canberra Chill in a shootout last week.

Tassie have depth and strength in the midfield and defence through players like Josh and Hayden Beltz, Jeremy Edwards and Tim Deavin. Whether the Tigers have the same killer strike power as Perth to finish their attack with goals could be the deciding factor.

Last time these teams met in Tasmania during Season One, the Tigers won both matches. The women won 5-3 and the men won 4-0.

Perth Thundersticks v Tassie Tigers
Saturday 29 October 2022
Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University, WA
Match Start: Women’s 4:30pm local (7:30pm AEDT), Men’s 6:00pm local (9:00pm AEDT)
Broadcast: LIVE and exclusive on Kayo #PTXvTIG #HockeyOne
Umpires: Tara Leonard & Nicola Brown (Women’s), Dan Johnston & Nathan Jennings (Men’s) 

Perth Thundersticks Women’s team: 1.Kate Denning, 2.Kyra White (c), 3.Candyce Peacock, 5.Georgina Dowd, 7.Penny Squibb, 8.Georgia Wilson, 9.Shanea Tonkin, 10.Sarah Byrnes, 11.Rachel Frusher, 12.Line Malan, 13.Neasa Flynn, 14.Elizabeth Duguid (gk), 16.Karri Somerville, 17.Annie Gibbs, 18.Renee Rockliff
In: 5.Georgina Dowd, 10.Sarah Byrnes, 14.Elizabeth Duguid (gk), 18.Renee Rockliff
Out: 19.Aleisha Power (gk), 21.Jade Van der Zwan, 24.Britney DeSilva, 25.Jolie Sertorio 

Tassie Tigers Women’s team: 1.Sarah McCambridge, 2.Jillian Wolgemuth, 3.Hannah Richardson, 4.Maddi Brooks, 5.Taylor Brooks, 7.Maddy Murphy (c), 8.Cassie Sumfest, 9.Emily Donovan, 10.Kiah Williams, 11.Eliza Westland, 12.Lou Maddock, 14.Brooke DeBerdine, 15.Lucy Cooper, 21.Lauren Canning, 25.Evie Dalton (gk)
In: 3.Hannah Richardson, 10.Kiah Williams, 25.Evie Dalton (gk)
Out: 6.Raeleigh Phillips, 20.Beth Dobbie, 23.Camilla Vaughan (gk)

Perth Thundersticks Men’s team: 1.Chris Bausor, 2.Will Battistessa, 3.Tim Geers, 4.Jake Harvie, 5.Bryn de Bes, 6.James Collins, 10.Tom Wickham, 11.Tom Harvie, 12.Alistair Murray, 14.Liam Flynn, 16.Harry Golding, 17.Aran Zalewski (c), 19.Ben Rennie (gk), 22.Ben Taylor, 24.Matt Willis
In: 19.Ben Rennie (gk)
Out: 7.Tyler Lovell (gk)

Tassie Tigers Men’s team: 2.Tyler McDonald, 4.Hayden Beltz, 7.Josh Mardell, 8.Joseph Murphy, 9.Jeremy Edwards, 10.Ruben Hoey, 11.Eddie Ockenden, 13.Joshua Beltz (c), 14.Jack Welch, 15.Kieron Arthur, 19.Tim Deavin, 20.James Bourke, 22.Oliver Pritchard, 23.Henry Chambers (gk), 27.Gobindraj Gill
In: 2.Tyler McDonald, 10.Ruben Hoey
Out: 5.Benjamin Austin, 26.Oliver Smith