Hockeyroos heroes headline powerful Perth Thundersticks women’s squad

Six current Australian Hockeyroos Commonwealth Games representatives form the nucleus of a strong 2022 Perth Thundersticks squad that’s aiming to put on a show across the 2022 Sultana Bran Hockey One League season.

Aleisha Power, Karri Somerville, Penny Squibb, Shanea Tonkin and Georgia Wilson alongside new recruit Brooke Peris form the spine of a side that features exciting young talent as well as seasoned veterans – a side that’s determined to play attractive and high-pace hockey.

“We have a really nice blend of youth and experience – the team is very exciting from my perspective,” women’s Thundersticks coach Phil Hulbert says.

“We’ve selected the squad on club form plus what was displayed throughout the 2022 Ric Charlesworth Classic, and we’ll continue to refine the squad based on club form and that from the National Under-21s, to be played here in Perth.”

Hulbert, who will be assisted in 2022 by Hockeyroos legend Ashleigh Nelson and former Hockeyroos Assistant Coach and current WAIS Head Coach Steph Andrews, identified Birmingham-bound Peris as a key to his side.

“Brooke is originally from the NT and she wants to join our squad – we’ve gratefully accepted her with open arms,” Hulbert says.

“She’s a wonderful player who’ll bring tremendous experience, pace and goal-scoring ability to the side.”

Hulbert said his team’s hopes are high entering the competition, which has been postponed due to COVID since 2019.

“This squad will play fast, open and attractive hockey,” Hulbert says.

“The squad is very capable of going deep in the competition. Both the men’s and women’s squads are very strong – there’s some great talent in WA. It’s a very exciting time for WA and a very exciting time for the state.

“We can’t wait to put on a show for WA sports fans and look forward to seeing a packed house at Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University for our fixtures.”The Perth Thundersticks are set to open their season in a double-header men’s and women’s clash against the Adelaide Fire on Saturday October 1 at Perth Hockey Stadium – memberships for the Perth Thundersticks are on sale now. 

The Perth Thundersticks squads have been selected based from form over the Ric Charlesworth Classic and Premier League season, with the squad remaining fluid and altered based on form and attitude in the Premier League and Hockey Australia Under-21s National Championships. Selectors will formally review the squad immediately following the Under-21s National Championships

2022 Perth Thundersticks Women’s Squad

Jemma Buckley Westside Wolves
Sarah Byrnes Curtin University
Chantelle Ciallella Curtin University
Aimee Clark Melville
Harriet Collins Victoria Park
Kate Denning Curtin University
Brittany Desilva UWA
Georgina Dowd Suburban Lions
Elizabeth Duguid WASPs
Ella Du Preez Westside Wolves
Neasa Flynn UWA
Sara Foster UWA
Rachel Frusher Victoria Park
Annie Gibbs North Coast Raiders
Line Malan Hale
Pippa Morgan UWA
Candyce Peacock Westside Wolves
Tyler Pedley Hale
Brooke Peris WASPs
Saysha Pillay Melville
Aleisha Power Victoria Park
Belle Ramshaw UWA
Anna Roberts North Coast Raiders
Renee Rockliff Victoria Park
Jolie Sertorio Suburban Lions
Karri Somerville Victoria Park
Penny Squibb Curtin University
Shanea Tonkin North Coast Raiders
Jade Van der Zwan North Coast Raiders
Kyra White WASPs
Georgia Wilson Victoria Park
Caitlin Cooper Suburban Lions
Jessica Freedman Westside Wolves
Charlotte Owens Suburban Lions
Caitlyn Templeman Hale