Canberra Chill announces final teams

The Canberra Chill have today announced their final teams and coaching staff for the inaugural Hockey One league.

The final teams of 20 athletes were selected from an initial training group of 30. Canberra Chill High Performance Director, Ben Bishop said “some tough decisions were made but we are confident in the final squads selected. We have high hopes for the teams as they head into the inaugural season of Hockey One”.

The coaching staff were also formally announced with Ben Bishop as High Performance Director, Peter Morgan as Men’s Head Coach, Ian Rutledge as Women’s Head Coach, Seyi Onitiri as Men’s Senior Assistant Coach and Paul Sureda as Women’s Assistant Coach. The coaching staff also includes squad trainers and former national players Peta MacKinnon, Aaron Hopkins and Ben Taylor.

Both the mens’ and womens’ side boast current and former Kookaburras and Hockeyroos, national development squad players, national junior representatives and local talent. The sides will further be boosted through the inclusion of Japanese national players and former Great Britain representative Beckie Middleton.

The Canberra Chill will open their Hockey One season against the Brisbane Blaze at the National Hockey Centre on September 29.


Canberra Chill Women 2019

Sakiyo Asano (JPN)

Edwina Bone (C)

Meredith Bone

Kalindi Commerford

Sassie Economos

Mikayla Evans

Naomi Evans

Anna Flanagan

Talei Forrest

Sophie Gaughan

Yui Ishibashi (JPN)

Rebecca Lee

Olivia Martin

Beckie Middleton (GBR)

Shihori Oikawa (JPN)

Brooke Peris

Aleisha Price

Jess Smith

Tina Taseska

Taylor Thomson


Canberra Chill Men 2019

Garry Backhus

Andrew Charter

Josh Chivers

Owen Chivers

Daniel Conroy (C)

James Day

Kentaro Fukuda (JPN)

Anand Gupte

Jamie Hawke

Brendan Hill

James Jewell

Aaron Kershaw (C)

Aaron Knight

Jay MacDonald

Lewis McLennan

Kazuma Murata (JPN)

Lewis Shepherd

Ben Staines

Jake Staines (C)

Manabu Yamashita (JPN)