Adelaide Fire ready to fire up for Season 2

Adelaide Fire – South Australia’s hockey team – is pleased to announce the final men’s and women’s squads for Season 2 of the Sultana Bran Hockey One League.

After a two-year break due to covid, Adelaide Fire is thrilled to welcome back a host of familiar faces as well as some exciting new additions for Season 2.

The women’s squad welcomes back experienced midfielder Jane Claxton after successful World Cup and Commonwealth Games campaigns which saw her achieve her 200th cap for the Hockeyroos.

Also returning from international competition with the Hockeyroos is dynamic defender Hattie Shand, along with former Hockeyroos Holly Evans-Gill and Gabi Nance. SA local dynamo who has also experienced international competition, Miki Spano, makes her return home to the Adelaide Fire.

The women’s squad sees the youthful inclusion of local emerging talent Carly Hoffmann after her recent naming in the Jillaroos squad following her strong performance in the recent Under 21 championships.

Topping up the women’s squad are international recruits from New Zealand – Izzy Gill (defender), Julia King (midfielder) and Siennah Cowles (defender). Fresh from Team USA in the FIH Pro League is goalkeeper Kelsey Bing.

“We have an exciting list with a great balance of youth and experience. This team has a proud history and we’re going to work hard to do everything we can to honour the responsibility that these selections now present to all of us,” said Adelaide Fire Women’s Head Coach Jason Butcher.

The men’s squad features some seasoned campaigners along with an influx of emerging talent. Alastair Oliver, Cameron White and Cameron Joyce make a return after featuring for the Fire in Season 1.

Striker Angus Fry comes back into the men’s squad after experiencing Season 1 as one of the youngsters in the team, along with midfielder Fred Gray who is also set to make a return home to SA after time away in Western Australia and with the Australia A Tour of Japan.

In line with the youthful inclusions the men’s squad will welcome youngster Jack Holland. Another strong contender from the recent Under 21 championships who has recently been named in the Burras squad.

Stepping outside of SA, the men’s squad will welcome talented trio from the Northern Territory – Zach Rakkas (striker), Nathan Hockman (defender) and Jye Clarke (goalkeeper).

Rounding out the men’s squad is an inclusion of interstate recruits – Christian Starkie from WA, Matthew Magann from NSW and Michael Doan from Queensland.

“The squad we have picked has a well-balanced mix of individual skill, match IQ, youth and experience. We’re excited to see this well-rounded group gel over the coming weeks and compete to the best of their abilities whilst representing South Australia as the Adelaide Fire,” said Adelaide Fire Men’s Head Coach Hugh Purvis.

Adelaide Fire’s opening fixture of Season 2 is on Saturday 1 October against the Perth Thundersticks at Perth Hockey Stadium.

The Fire will head home to host the Tassie Tigers on Saturday 8 October under lights at MATE Stadium. Other home matches include hosting NSW Pride on Friday 14 October and HC Melbourne on Thursday 3 November.

Adelaide Fire memberships are available here

Individual match day tickets are available here

Adelaide Fire is proudly supported by Major Sponsor, MATE.

Follow Adelaide Fire

Adelaide Fire #ADL #FuelTheFire

Facebook: @AdelaideFireH1

Twitter: @AdelaideFireH1

Instagram: @AdelaideFireH1

Adelaide Fire – Women’s Squad

Name Club Position
Amy Hammond Grange Royals Hockey Club Goalkeeper
Carly Hoffman Port Adelaide District Hockey Club Striker
Chloe Carter Adelaide Hockey Club Striker
Erin Cameron Adelaide Hockey Club Midfielder / Defender
Gabi Nance Seacliff Hockey Club Midfielder
Hattie Shand Adelaide Hockey Club Defender
Holly Evans-Gill North East Hockey Club Defensive Midfielder
Izzy Gill Southern District Hockey Club (NZ) Defender
Jane Claxton Burnside Hockey Club Midfielder
Jet Mallinson Port Adelaide District Hockey Club Striker
Julia King Somerville Hockey Club (NZ) Midfielder
Kate Holland-Smith Seacliff Hockey Club Attacking Midfielder
Kelsey Bing Team USA Hockey (USA) Goalkeeper
Kirra-Lee Pavy Banks Hockey Club (NT) Midfielder
Linzi Appleyard Port Adelaide District Hockey Club Defensive Midfielder
Lucy Holland-Smith Seacliff Hockey Club Attacking Midfielder
Lucy Sharman Adelaide Hockey Club Defender
Miki Spano Adelaide Hockey Club Striker
Sarah Harrison Port Adelaide District Hockey Club Attacking Midfielder
Siennah Cowles Roskill-Eden Hockey Club (NZ) Defender

Adelaide Fire – Men’s Squad

Name Club Position
Alastair Oliver Seacliff Hockey Club Midfielder
Angus Fry Adelaide Hockey Club Striker
Brodie Gleeson Adelaide Hockey Club Striker
Cameron Joyce Port Adelaide District Hockey Club Defender
Cameron White Grange Royals Hockey Club Midfielder
Christian Starkie University of WA Hockey Club (WA) Goalkeeper
Connor Richmond-Spouse Seacliff Hockey Club Defender
Fred Gray Adelaide Hockey Club Midfielder
Geoff Abbott Adelaide Hockey Club Midfielder
Glyn Tamlin Seacliff Hockey Club Defender
Isaac Whittaker Port Adelaide District Hockey Club Striker
Jack Holland Adelaide Hockey Club Striker
Jye Clarke Palmerston Saints Hockey Club (NT) Goalkeeper
Matthew Magann Norwest Strikers Hockey Club (NSW) Defender
Michael Doan Eastern Suburbs Tigers Hockey Club (QLD) Midfielder
Mitchell Dell North East Hockey Club Defender
Nathan Hochman East Darwin Hockey Club (NT) Defender
Tom Cleghorn Adelaide Hockey Club Defender
Will Abbott Grange Royals Hockey Club Striker
Zach Rakkas Warratahs Hockey Club (NT) Striker