2019 Brisbane Blaze fixture announced

Hockey Queensland’s team in the inaugural Hockey One competition – the BRISBANE BLAZE – today announced their home and away draw for the 2019 season.

Hockey One represents a major shift for Hockey in Australia as a re-imagined sport and entertainment product, putting fans first, with a new concept, new format, new club identities and new rules with matches streamed on Kayo Sports and finals televised live on FOX SPORTS.

The Brisbane Blaze are one of seven new club identities from Australia’s major cities who will participate in the inaugural Hockey One, unifying the state’s male and female teams under the same club name.

The Blaze will host three home-and-away matches at the State Hockey Centre, Brisbane with our male and female teams always playing double-headers, in a major win for fans.

These home games will be staged at the State Hockey Centre, Brisbane on Friday 18 October, Sunday 20 October and Saturday 2 November.

Hockey Queensland High Performance Manager, Lee Bodimeade said “We are really excited to have these three games for the Blaze men and woman staged at the home of hockey in Queensland. It has been a while since the State Hockey Centre has seen so much quality hockey and this provides a great opportunity for all hockey and sports fans alike.”

“We encourage everyone to come and support the Brisbane Blaze. There will be no easy games, but we know how much a home crowd can lift our players. They can’t wait to show all the Blaze supporters what they can do,” Bodimeade stated.

The Blaze will play the first three games away against the Canberra Chill, Hockey Club Melbourne and the Adelaide Fire, before starting their home run at the State Hockey Centre.

The Hockey One semi-finals and grand finals will be staged on 9/10 and 16 November respectively.

Brisbane Blaze Memberships will go on sale this Thursday 11th July.

Memberships will start at around $50 for an adult 3-game package, with The Inferno (hospitality seats) on sale at $165. Kids Under 12 will be FREE.

Here is the full schedule for the Brisbane Blaze: